U.S. Citizens Will Need to Register to Travel to Europe Starting in 2021- Part 1

Share this:

Americans will need an ETIAS travel authorization to visit European countries such as Germany starting in 2021.

Here’s what you need to know about the new ETIAS travel authorization requirements.

Europe is the most visited region in the world, with countries like France, Spain, Italy, and Germany each welcoming more than 37 million international visitors in 2017 alone. In addition to offering some of the world’s best cuisine, museums, and architecture, Europe is a popular destination for U.S. travelers, who don’t need a tourist visa to visit most countries.

But the rules are about to change. Starting on January 1, 2021, all U.S. citizens who want to travel to the 26 members of Europe’s Schengen Zone will need to register with the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) or risk being turned away at the border.

Here’s everything you need to know about the new process:

Why is the process changing?

With ongoing terrorist threats, the European Union decided to implement this new travel authorization program to protect and strengthen its borders. By requiring visitors to register, the EU will be able to identify any possible threats or risks associated with travelers coming into these countries before they arrive. U.S. citizens will still be able to enter Europe without registering until January 1, 2021.

Does this mean I need a visa to travel to Europe?

This isn’t a visa. European Commission and U.S. State Department officials confirmed to the Washington Post that ETIAS is a travel authorization

“Next week we will talk more about Traveling to Europe”

Share this: